Abrar Ahmed Among five added to Central Contracts by PCB.

by: Atika Mehboob TN Sport Pakistan:
The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has expanded its list of players with central contracts, with five more players now enjoying this recognition, bringing the total to 30. This decision comes after the central contracts, set to span from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2026, were announced last month.

Initially, a 25-man list was prepared by the Najam Sethi-led management committee. However, following a review, the new committee chaired by Mr. Zaka Ashraf decided to make adjustments. New inclusions are Abrar Ahmed (Category C), Noman Ali (Category C), Tayyab Tahir (Category D), Aamir Jamal (Category D), and Arshad Iqbal (Category D).

In a notable promotion, former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed moved from Category “D” to Category B. Currently the premier choice as wicket-keeper batter in Tests for Pakistan, Sarfaraz made a triumphant return to the Test side last December. With 367 runs in four matches at an impressive average of 61.16, he was the standout player in the series against New Zealand, registering three half-centuries and one century.

Abrar and Noman, now in Category C, have been consistent inclusions in Pakistan’s Test squad recently. Abrar, a mystery spinner, boasts 38 wickets in just six matches since his debut against England in Multan. Meanwhile, left-arm spinner Noman secured 17 wickets in four matches in the past year.

Aamir, Arshad, and Tayyab, all in Category D, remain significant prospects for the national selection committee, given their recent T20I appearances.

Here’s the revised list of centrally contracted players:
Category A: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi
Category B: Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan
Category C: Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Noman Ali
Category D: Aamir Jamal, Arshad Iqbal, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir, Zaman Khan

With these contracts, players will see increased monthly retainers, benefiting from a portion of the ICC revenue. While the contract’s financial terms remain fixed for its duration, a review of the players’ list will take place after a year. The preceding contract cycle concluded on 30 June, with the current one effective from 1 July 2023.


TN Media News