Karachi Whites Triumph as Quaid-e-Azam Trophy Champions

by: Atika Mehboob TN Sport Pakistan:
Saim Ayub shines as the player of the final while Sarfaraz Ahmed bags the player of the tournament accolade.

Lahore, 26 October 2023 – Karachi Whites marked a significant victory by seizing their fifth Quaid-e-Azam Trophy title. They bested Faisalabad with a lead of 456 runs on the final day of the championship at Gaddafi Stadium. The thrilling climax witnessed Faisalabad’s captain Faheem Ashraf’s dismissal by Ghulam Mudassar, setting off celebrations for the victorious team, led by Sarfaraz Ahmed. The champions received a grand cash prize of PKR 10 million.

This victory comes after a long hiatus, with Karachi Whites’ last triumph in the 2001-02 season against Peshawar. They previously dominated with three consecutive titles between 1990 and 1993.

The final day commenced with Faisalabad at a score of 129-6. Despite Faheem’s valiant efforts, which included a commendable century, they could only reach a total of 333 before being bowled out. Faheem’s standout performance featured a career-best 147, adorned with 23 boundaries and a pair of sixes.

Karachi’s Ghulam Mudassar emerged as a pivotal player, securing figures of 3-62, with Shahnawaz Dahani following with 2-119. Additionally, Mir Hamza, Noman Ali, and Asad Shafiq each contributed with a wicket.

Reflecting on the tournament’s journey, Faisalabad stood out at the round-robin stage, leading the points table, followed by Karachi Whites. Peshawar’s Sahibzada Farhan was the top scorer with 847 runs in 10 innings, rightfully earning the title of the best batter of the tournament. Saim Ayub of Karachi Whites, for his impressive scores in both innings, was declared the player of the final.

The overall player of the tournament went to Sarfaraz Ahmed for his outstanding 697 runs and 28 dismissals. Faisalabad’s Khurram Shahzad and Ali Shan were recognized as the best bowler and wicket-keeper, respectively.

Match Summary:
Karachi Whites surpassed Faisalabad by 456 runs with notable performances from several players.

Player Accolades:
– Player of the Tournament: Sarfaraz Ahmed (Karachi Whites) – 697 runs & 28 dismissals.
– Best Batter: Sahibzada Farhan (Peshawar Region) – 847 runs.
– Best Bowler: Khurram Shahzad (Faisalabad Region) – 36 wickets.
– Best Wicket-keeper: Ali Shan (Faisalabad Region) – 29 dismissals.
– Player of the Final: Saim Ayub (Karachi Whites).


TN Media News