ODI & amp; T20I squad announced with new faces by Pakistan

Pakistan announced the ODI and T20I squad with few new faces into the side along with uncapped players Mohammed Harris and Asif Afridi making their way and Mohammad Hasnain left out after he was reported for an illegal bowling action during the Big Bash along with no place for Shah Maqsood.

Since the launch of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) the selection is based on those who perform well in this tournament have a better chance of selection into the main squad although many of the senior players have commented to give more time to the players to make their way into the Pakistan team then just to perform in PSL.

Most of the players are retained from the West Indies tour and Mohammed Nawaz needs to clear fitness test although he is named in the squad.  Nawaz missed the later part of the PSL due to foot injury and the 3-match test series against Australia.

Mohammed Wasim the chief selector said “The selection of Haris and Afridi is a message to all domestic players that their performances are being followed, and whenever an opportunity arises they will be rewarded with a national call-up“.

Pakistan Squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Asif Afridi, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir.

The ODI will be starting from 29th March, 31st March and 2nd April with only 1 T20I on 5th April.

TN Media News