No test match in Lahore for the last 13 years!

Almost into the final test match, the decider which both teams and the fans would like to end with a result regardless who wins.

Australia coming to play after 24 years and Pakistan had not played with the likes as them in the past on the home soil, get the chance to prove few points as they raise the standards of their game to prove to the world, they are a strong nation even though with number of years without cricket on home soil, they are their to compete.

It is interesting to note that there have been no test match held in Lahore for the last 13 years. The pitch been prepared for this final test is unknown and it is also clear after two test matches, pitches prepared have raised concerns, Pakistan Cricket Board who have engaged the services of the former MCG and ICC Academy curator, Toby Lumsden as a consultant working with the local ground staff to prepare the surface for the final test, hoping this will not give any excuses to the cricket experts to comment on the pitch as other than local staff foreign is involved to over look.

It would be good to note that during the Pakistan domestic Quaid-E-Azam Trophy, all matches ended in favour of the batting draws without having to go to fourth innings.

Australian vice-captain Smith was asked if he is expecting the pitch to be different to the previous test and he said “Probably not, having not seen the wicket, I’m probably expecting something similar to what we’ve had in the first two Tests, but we’ll be able to make a better assessment after we’ve been to training today.”

Pakistan and Australia team are very excited to play the final test match and the nation is expected a result with toss playing a vital role to see who will dominate the game but we could be in for a surprise.

Will there be changes in the team for the final test match, are both teams going to go with pace or have regular batters instead of spinner?

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc), Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Zahid Mahmood.

Australia Test squad: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner. On standby: Sean Abbott, Brendan Doggett, Nic Maddinson, Matthew Renshaw.


TN Media News