Shan Masood Reveals Pakistan’s Batting Order for Australia Tour.

by: Atika Mehboob TN Sport Pakistan:
Shan Masood, the recently appointed Test captain of Pakistan, unveiled the team’s batting strategy for the upcoming Australia tour during a press conference in Lahore. Masood highlighted the stability of the Test team, emphasizing the enduring partnership of Imam ul Haq and Abdullah Shafique at the opening positions.

“Our Test team has been a settled unit. The opening combination of Imam ul Haq and Abdullah Shafique has been representing Pakistan for more than a year now. They have given a lot of performances. After the retirement of Azhar Ali, I have mostly played at the number three spot in domestic and international cricket. This is the top three in our plans,” Masood stated.

Expressing confidence in the top three positions, Masood outlined the batting sequence, assuring that the team would be built around the exceptional talent of Babar Azam, who firmly holds the number four spot. He acknowledged Azam as the team’s premier batsman and stressed the importance of preserving his batting position.

“Babar Azam is our best batsman. No one would disturb his batting position, which is the number four spot. You make your team around the team’s best batsman,” he added.

Masood also spoke highly of Saim Ayub, recognizing him as an exciting prospect with an aggressive approach in domestic cricket. “Saim Ayub is an exciting prospect, and he has been rewarded for his attacking approach in domestic cricket. He will get a chance if needed,” Shan said.

Pakistan Squad for Australia Tests:
– Shan Masood (captain)
– Aamir Jamal
– Abdullah Shafique
– Abrar Ahmed
– Babar Azam
– Faheem Ashraf
– Hasan Ali
– Imam-ul-Haq
– Khurram Shahzad
– Mir Hamza
– Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
– Mohammad Wasim Jnr
– Noman Ali
– Saim Ayub
– Salman Ali Agha
– Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk)
– Saud Shakeel
– Shaheen Shah Afridi

Australia Tour Schedule:
– Four-day match: PM’s XI vs Pakistan – December 6-9: Manuka Oval, Canberra
– 1st Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 14-18: Perth Stadium
– 2nd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – December 26-30: Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
– 3rd Test – Australia vs Pakistan – January 3-7: Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG)


TN Media News