NZ leave out Williamson and Jamieson for Bangladesh series.

by: TN Media News Pakistan:

The skipper Kane Williamson and prolific seamer Kyle Jamieson will miss the forthcoming three-match Twenty20 series against Bangladesh, New Zealand Cricket confirmed on Friday, dealing a blow to the Black Caps. While Jamieson is recovering from a hamstring ailment, Williamson, who underwent knee surgery in April, is scheduled for additional rehabilitation.

For the T20 series, which begins on December 27, opener Rachin Ravindra and seamer Jacob Duffy will take their places. In Williamson’s absence, Mitchell Santner will assume captaincy.

In order to best prepare both players for the forthcoming Test series against South Africa and Australia in early 2024, head coach Gary Stead stressed that the decision was made based on medical advice.

The Black Caps spokesman confirmed that Williamson is expected to make his T20I return in the home series against Pakistan in January, a series which Jamieson will also miss. New Zealand has already secured victory in the ongoing one-day international series against Bangladesh, winning both games ahead of the third ODI scheduled in Napier on Saturday.

The revised New Zealand T20 squad includes Mitchell Santner (capt), Finn Allen, Mark Chapman, Jacob Duffy, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, James Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, and Tim Southee.


TN Media News